# Best damp meters for walls and timber

Source: https://dampanddry.co.uk/best/best-damp-meter
Publisher: Damp and Dry. Picks are based on what the Amazon listings state, not on hands-on testing. Method: https://dampanddry.co.uk/how-we-pick

A damp meter tells you whether a wall, floor or joist is actually wet or just cold, which is the first question before you spend money on a dehumidifier, a builder or a damp course. Pin meters push two probes into timber or plaster and read moisture content directly. Pinless meters press a sensor pad on the surface and read through it without marks, which suits finished walls and floors and lets you map a damp patch quickly. Surveyors often carry both. This guide compares seven meters, mostly from the surveying brands Protimeter and Tramex, on measuring method, stated depth, how the reading is shown, whether it links to an app for reports and which materials the maker lists. Readings on masonry are relative, so treat any meter as a guide to where the damp is rather than a diagnosis.

## Products

### 1. Tramex Moisture Encounter MEX5 | Meter for Measuring Moisture Content & Relative Humidity in Wood, Drywall & Building Materials

Method: Pinless, optional pin and RH probes; Depth: 9 mm and 30 mm; Readout: Wood MC 0 to 30%, RH, dew point; App: Yes, Bluetooth; Materials: Wood, drywall, building materials

A survey grade meter that reads at two depths without pins, with a built-in hygrometer, infrared surface thermometer and app based moisture mapping.

In its favour:
- Shallow 9 mm and deep 30 mm readings let you compare surface and core moisture.
- Built-in hygrometer and IR thermometer give RH, dew point and humidity ratio for condensation checks.
- Bluetooth app builds moisture maps with geotagged, time stamped reports and photos.

Good to know:
- The pin and RH probes are optional extras, not part of the base kit.
- Batteries are not included, according to the listing.

### 2. Protimeter Aquant Non‑Invasive Moisture Meter - BLD5770

Method: Pinless; Depth: Up to 20 mm; Readout: Backlit LCD; App: Yes, Protimeter Connect; Materials: Wood, drywall, concrete, fibreglass

Protimeter's non invasive meter for surveys and flood work, reading up to 20 mm below the surface with app logging and field calibration.

In its favour:
- Reads up to 20 mm below the surface without marking finished walls or floors.
- Protimeter Connect app logs readings with time and date stamps for reports.
- Automatic calibration checks plus user field calibration are listed.

Good to know:
- Pinless only, so it cannot give a direct timber moisture content from probes.
- The listing does not state a numeric measuring range.

### 3. Protimeter Mini General Purpose Moisture Meter

Method: Pin; Depth: Not stated; Readout: Colour coded LED; App: No; Materials: General purpose

A simple pin moisture meter with a colour coded LED scale for dry, borderline and damp, supplied with a calibration device and extension probe.

In its favour:
- Green, yellow and red LEDs make dry, borderline and damp readings easy to read.
- Calibration device is included so you can check the meter is reading correctly.
- Extension pin probe helps in awkward spots such as skirting and under stairs.

Good to know:
- Pin probes leave small holes, so it is less suited to finished decorative surfaces.
- No app, data logging or stated measuring depth in the listing.

### 4. Moisture Meter - TEMIRUP Pin & Pinless Wood Moisture Tester with Color LCD and Acoustic Alarm, Digital Moisture Reader Detects 20-40 mm for Walls, Wood, Masonry, Concrete and Other Building Materials

Method: Pin and pinless; Depth: 20 to 40 mm; Readout: Colour LCD, RH and temperature; App: No; Materials: Wood, brick, plaster, concrete

A two mode meter with a spherical pinless head and a pin probe, plus ambient temperature and humidity readings and a 36 month warranty.

In its favour:
- Covers both relative pinless scanning and absolute pin readings in one kit.
- Measures ambient temperature and humidity as well as material moisture.
- Listing names caravans and motorhomes among its uses, along with walls and timber.

Good to know:
- Not from a surveying brand, and accuracy for material readings is not stated.
- No app or data logging, only a hold function for the current reading.

### 5. Protimeter BLD5777 Reachmaster Pro

Method: Pinless; Depth: Up to 12 cm; Readout: Wireless display; App: Not stated; Materials: Not stated

A non invasive meter on a 69 to 114 cm telescopic handle for checking ceilings, roofs and floors without ladders or kneeling.

In its favour:
- Telescopic handle reaches 114 cm, so ceilings and floors can be scanned standing up.
- Stated depth of up to 12 cm, varying with the material, is the deepest listed here.
- Audible alarm and adjustable sensitivity help home in on the wettest spot.

Good to know:
- Built for wide area scanning rather than precise timber moisture content.
- The listing does not name the materials it is calibrated for.

### 6. Concrete Moisture Meter - CME5

Method: Pinless; Depth: About 20 mm; Readout: Not stated; App: Yes, Bluetooth; Materials: Concrete, gypsum floor screed

A specialist meter for concrete slabs and gypsum screed that reads about 20 mm deep without drilling, with an iOS and Android app.

In its favour:
- Reads into the slab to about 20 mm without probing or drilling.
- Bluetooth link to an iOS and Android app for reporting.
- Rugged enclosure suits site use before laying floor coverings.

Good to know:
- Made for concrete and screed, so it is the wrong tool for walls and timber.
- The listing notes it is an international product sold from abroad.

### 7. GE Protimeter BLD2001 Mini C Moisture Meter, LED Display, 6 to 30% Range, 7-1/64" Length x 1-29/32" Width x 1.09" Height

Method: Not stated; Depth: Not stated; Readout: LED, 6 to 30%; App: No; Materials: Not stated

A compact Protimeter with an LED display and a stated 6 to 30% range, aimed at catching wet timber before it warps or cracks.

In its favour:
- Stated range of 6 to 30% covers the levels that matter for timber.
- Compact handheld size, with a listed weight of 358 g.
- Runs on a single 9 V battery, according to the specs.

Good to know:
- The listing gives very little detail on method, materials or accessories.
- The listing does not say whether it reads with pins or a pinless pad.

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.